Professor A.Dakshinamurthy

Home » Sangam Classics » Natrinai » Natrinai: Palai – Poem 284

Natrinai: Palai – Poem 284

(The hero speaks to himself when he is in a foreign land in quest of riches)

My beloved is the one

who won my heart for her.

She has dark tresses which hang low on her back;

Her eyes, adorned with collyrium,

Glow like a pair of Neythal blooms;

They have cool brows;

My heart goads me to rush towards my home

And relieve her of her pangs of separation

While my intellect urges me thus:

“To leave unaccomplished

An endeavor undertaken,

Is ignorance, besides being

Cause for disgrace!

May you weigh the relative merits

And act accordingly.

Do not act in haste!”

Alas, what will betide of my poor body?

Is it destined to perish

Even like an old rope

Of worn-out strands

Whose ends are pulled

From opposite directions

By two elephants of upturned and glittering tusks?

–          Teypuri Palankayirrinar.

–          Translated by A.Dakshinamurthy.


Leave a Reply

